Homemade Potato Chip Recipe

chips.jpg

My husband is (still!) sick this week, so I’m geeting creative trying to feed him – he doesn’t seem to want much, unlike me when I’m sick – I eat EVERYTHING! But I came across an old favorite that I’ve forgotten about – homemade potato chips. This way he gets the salt his body needs in order to keep all that fluid IN rather than OUT in order to heal. It’s easy and almost non-fattening. Plus I get to have what he doesn’t eat. 🙂

Take 3 large potatoes, wash, slice thinly – about twice the size that you’d get a normal potato chip.

Spray the bottom of a cookie sheet or cake pan with Pam or another cooking spray.

Lay the potato slices closer together – even touching is fine – and salt generously.

Cook at 350 for about 10 minutes then flip. It’s hot so use tongs.

Bake for another 5-10 and let cool.

Make sure to keep a close eye on them as soon enough they get quite charred, but if you take them out too early they’re yucky and squishy. Lucky for us, men aren’t too picky when it comes to potatoes!

So, so great. And completely free of saturated fat.

Tomorrow I’m making him chicken soup in my crock pot. I’ll post that recipe if I get the time. Is it really quite horrible that I cherish the moments when my family HAS to be together because we’re sick and I get to be the doting wife? Yesterday Rick thanked me for being “so perfect”. I swear I could run on that compliment for a week…

P.S. Potatoes are cheap and have almost every single vitamin and mineral in them. Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. Those look delicious!!! I’ve been wanting to do something like this for a while. Thanks for the recipe! I loved your post on how we are daughters of the King and what a blessed thing it is to be a woman 🙂

  2. yay! I’m so glad you liked it! Like I said, I’ve been a Christian for many years and it took me a loooong time to get it. 🙂 Good eating to you and your family, too!

Leave a Reply

