Chicken Stew Recipe

Sorry, folks. I got sick, too, and our sweet neighbor brought over chicken noodle soup so we were set. Today, however, chicken stew is in the crockpot simmering. It smells fantastic. Please keep in mind that this is just a crappy homemade soup recipe that I made up one day when we had close to nothing left for dinners and threw in what I could find. It was so cheap, healthy, and great that we pretty much have it once a week now. It’s more like a stew, I must say, and the recipe changes with what we have on hand. For instance today we didn’t have kidney beans, so I threw in some lima beans. We were also down to the bare bones when it came to potatoes, so usually there’s more. I’ll post a pic of the finished (and not nearly as beautiful) product tonight. Also, if you’re not a fan of spinach don’t add it. It’s extremely mushy, but I don’t care because it’s good for my family and they don’t seem to mind. P.S. You’ll soon see my devotion and commitment to Target brand foods. 🙂  Happy Eating!

*3 C. water/1 cube chicken broth (or three C. broth homemade or from a can)

*3 frozen chicken breasts (thawed would be better, I imagine, but we freeze our meat and I never plan ahead in enough time to thaw)

*1/2 bag frozen carrots

*1 can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

*1/2 onion chopped

*3 medium potatoes chopped

*1/2 cup spinach

*Basil to taste. I usually use the stuff in the tube, again because it can be frozen, but a few fresh leaves will be good, too.

*Salt and pepper to taste

*1 tsp. garlic minced – omitted today because I’m saving the last bit for another recipe this week.

___

1. Microwave broth for 3 minutes, stir, add to pot

step-1.jpg

2. Add chicken to crock pot. Leave at the bottom of pan until it’s fully cooked. You can never be too careful when it comes to meat.

step-2.jpg

3. Add all other ingredients

step3.jpg  step-4.jpg step-5.jpg step-6.jpg step-7.jpg

4. Cook on High for about 3 1/2 -4 hours or until potatoes are tender and chicken is cooked through.

step-8.jpg

*** Please remember that this feeds my family of three for a dinner and my husband for lunch the next day. If you want more chicken, etc. I would add another cup of broth or so. It is a VERY flexible recipe, just perfect for experimenting with. Celery and rosemary would be good, too. I tried broccoli a few times, but it got really mushy. Maybe if I were to add it in  the last 20 minutes? Let me know how it turns out.

______________

step-9.jpg I know. It looks gross, right? I added corn after writing because I found it in the fridge. 🙂

But here’s the proof that it’s good eats: A picky eater 2 year-old ->

sam-eating-1.jpg

sam-eating-2.jpg

One Response

  1. […] traditional meal tonight after work, but the grocery store was out. Instead we I’ll be making this – I bet it’s even more authentic, […]

Leave a Reply

