Bummed…

As soon as I was finishing up my last post from, oh, two seconds ago the landlady from House#3 (remember? With the park?) called and turned us down. Apparently the rent would have been 40% of our wage and they only take people at 35%. She called earlier and I ASSURED her that I have been holding off getting a night job until we moved (can you imagine moving with a job, Sam, and Ricky working? Not me…) and that I pretty much had one lined up, but she just called back and gave me the “Hell no” we’ve been praying against.

I’m pretty angry, although not surprised. This world is for the rich. My little boy doesn’t get to be rich. I can’t tell you the guilt that seeps in when I think about the mold I cleaned up in his room yet again.Β The other houses are gone now, too, so it looks like it’s back to the drawing board. Now I have to write Ricky and let him down. He’s been emailing about it all day. My head is spinning.

Just another day in Paradise, right? <sigh> Back to the the To-Do list…

6 Responses

  1. UGH! I just read through the past posts and I’m so bummed for you on this one.
    We are in the process of doing a mold test on our housing – we’ve heard of others who have had to move due to it and the property management company is being sued because of it by another family. Ever since we moved here I’ve had nothing but problems, and they seem to be pointing toward mold for now.
    I do have a small suggestion, though you’ve surely probably already thought of it (and I’m assuming you’ve already asked the landlady to treat the problem and she hasn’t done so): consider contacting the EPA and asking them to send someone to test the mold for you. Explain your financial and health situations and get them to do it FOR YOU. With all the press about mold and toxic mold and all that, take the test results to the landlady and inform her that she has one option: to deal with it – thoroughly – through a mold company or you’re looking for an attorney.

    And if she doesn’t, or says she can’t for financial reasons, go find an attorney who will take your case pro bono due to the mold factor and, dare I say it, nail her. It may be a horrible thing for me to say, but either she fixes it or helps you find a new place on her nickel. Either way, check your furniture before you move, because mold and mildew can grow in anything soft. 😦 But this is not only the health of the adults at stake here – it’s your little guy’s health too, and she has a legal responsibility to FIX THIS PROBLEM for you.

    Rant over. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be saying a prayer for you that this is fixed somehow!!!

  2. Oh thanks so much for the support! I really am at a loss of what to do. We did call the health inspector and he didn’t do any tests, but did blame it on “all the cooking” we do? WHAT?! He said we probably boil too much pasta. LOL! So, basically, we’ve just given up. We had him look at it twice and it just wouldn’t stand up in court. But it IS everywhere. In every outside corner of the house. We were sleeping on a mattress on the floor and had to get rid of it because the whole underside had molded through. It is so extremely frustrating. I just can’t thank you enough for your kind words and prayers. Just knowing I’m not crazy is sometimes enough! πŸ™‚

  3. I am so sorry. But look at it this way, maybe God has a different plan for you. Something better. Don’t worry I will keep you in my prayers πŸ™‚

  4. That just means that the perfect house is still waiting for you out there! In God’s time – I know it is hard to wait and be patient but He knows what he is doing (anyway that is what I keep telling myself)! I will continue to pray for your situation!

  5. Hang in there!! I was SO hoping you’d get that house. BUT…that means God has something better FOR YOU. It’s so hard to trust when we don’t know the future, but hang in there. Lately, I have been reading Psalms…there is SO much encouragement there!! I will continue praying for you!!

    Have a blessed day!!,
    Christy

  6. I can TOTALLY identify with how you feel here. This world really does cater to two-income families and it is sometimes a real struggle for those of us who choose to live traditionally. WE are fortunate that because my hubby does apartment maintenance, a place to live comes with his job with no credit / income check BUT it does mean we are paying more for rent than we should and puts our budget off-balance at times. If we were to rent a place at the % of our income we “should”, we would be living in an unsafe part of town.

Leave a Reply

