Hydrogen Peroxide 3% – Household Uses

Man, oh man. I hate bleach. I bet you do too, right? It’s stinky, poisonous, kills your clothes, kills our environment… So many, many more. But we need it. We need it if we are going to continue to banish paper towels from our homes and instead choose rags and towels. I don’t know about you, but the thought of cleaning around my toilet with a rag one day, washing it in just hot water and soap, and then cleaning up my toddler’s booster seat the next gives me the heeby-geebies! So I use bleach, feel bad about it, inevitably put something non-white in (every time) that gets all bleached out, and then do it all over again.

I found a solution!!!

In my lovely city we have a small little publication called, Second Opinion. I think it’s bi-monthly and it’s done entirely through people in my community. It gives great little tidbits of info like how to give baby massage, where the local farmer’s markets are, how to save money by using less, and on and on. This month there was a fantastic little blip about alternative uses for hydrogen peroxide. I thought that stuff was only for cleaning out cuts and rinsing your mouth (so good for whitening properties, although it tastes just a tad nast-ilicious!). I thought I’d share a few that I thought we great. Of course, my favorite is the laundry piece – good-bye BLEACH! WOO HOO!! (I’ll post a link if I can get the editor to start up a site…)

“Hydrogen peroxide is the only germicidal agent composed only of water and oxygen.”

*Soak your toothbrush in HP between brushings to kill bacteria.

*Add 2 ounces of HP to dishwater/machine formula to sanitize and eliminate transmission of colds and diseases. (My mother-in-law does this with bleach and it totally freaks me out!)

*Use salt and HP in chilled water to wash fish, chicken, and other meats to kill bacteria and viruses.

*Keep a spray bottle of HP in the kitchen and use it to spray down the sink to disinfect and smell clean.

*Add 8 ounces of HP to your wash in place of bleach.

*Add one pint of HP to a gallon of water in humidifiers to keep them clean.

Neat, huh? I’ve already started the toothbrush and dishwater tip. I was a bit confused by the ounce thing, but then I realized that I have a little boy who used to have bottles labeled 2,4,6, and 8 ounces. Perfect little measuring cup. Oh. And did I mention that I got a 32 ounce bottle for $1.59 at Walgreen’s?

 Have a blessed Easter, my dear friends! Here’s a fantastic idea on keeping Easter and Egg Hunts distinctly separated but still endearing to children – we won’t be doing it this year as Sam is still to young to understand either, but next year maybe…

One Response

  1. My fellow on Orkut shared this link and I’m not dissapointed that I came to your blog.

Leave a Reply

