Bloggy Giveaway – Dr. Sears’ Nighttime Parenting Book

Bloggy Giveaways is having their Bloggy Carnival this week and I am finally getting in on the fun. WOO HOO!

I thought a lot about what I wanted to give and I believe that since this blog is geared mostly toward my experiences as Sam’s mom and my quest to parent him in a Godly and loving manner it would be the biggest blessing to give the one resource (besides the Bible) that has helped me love Sam during the hardest part of our lives together so far.

To one winner I will give a copy of Dr. William Sears’ book Nighttime Parentng. If you are a parent of a baby younger than 18 months and are having sleep issues or are expecting a child and would like to get started in preparing for the long nights ahead, please enter to win this. I will get your information later and have is sent straight to you from amazon.com. With this book you will learn practical, sensible and loving ways to guide your child to sleep (or back to sleep!). This is in VAST contrast to the sleep-trainitg techniques that are popular today such as Cry-it-Out, ect. This book, along with The Baby Book by Dr. Sears and his wife, Martha Sears, has helped me to create an amazingly strong bond and a large amount of trust between our family. To get more info on Dr Sears’ parenting advice, please go here.

The winner will be announced on Sunday, April 27th. Please make sure that you leave your name and blog/email information so that I can inform you if you are the winner. Please also tell me what made YOU feel comfortable when you were scared or had a hard time sleeping as a child. I know with me it always helped when my mom would scratch my back and sing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”. To this day I still swear that she has the sweetest voice in the universe!!

Good luck and make sure to check out all the other giveaways this week!

51 Responses

  1. Sounds great! 🙂

  2. I could use the advice in this book!

  3. My 17 month old still doesn’t sleep through. This would be wonderful! Thank you! And Sam is a very beautiful boy! 😀

  4. We heart Dr. Sears! When I was a child & I was upset, I definitely didn’t want to be left alone to cry in my own room. I remember my Dad reading a book to me & I remember my Mom reading the Bible to me. Both were very calming. Thanks for offering such a great giveaway.

  5. When I was a child and I was scared to go to sleep my parents were ok about letting me fall asleep on the couch in the living room where they were, my bedroom was on the other side of the house and I hated being that far, plus it was dark!

    palmersf(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  6. I don’t remember being afraid to sleep at night, but my parents co -slept as well as we do so maybe that helped. We were always welcome to come and cuddle with my parents if we were scared. =) Great giveaway.. I LOVE Dr. Sears.

  7. I don’t remember being afraid to sleep at night, but my parents co -slept as well as we do so maybe that helped. We were always welcome to come and cuddle with my parents if we were scared. =) Great giveaway.. I LOVE Dr. Sears.

  8. I love Dr. Sears and this is one of his I don’t have and want. I’d love to win! 🙂

  9. I could always sleep as long as I had my blanket.

  10. We’re expecting our first, so this would be great preparation for us! When I was little, just having my mom or dad sit on the bed beside me and rub my arm or back was enough to soothe me!

  11. I could really use this. My dd is 13 months and having problems at night. We seem to have a period where she sleeps for 12 hours and then a few nights later she is up multiple times. This could really help us!

  12. I love Dr. Sears. This would be a great book for my sister in law who is due in August! I think just having my mom stay with me until I fell asleep worked the best. Or just having a light on.

    owatz(AT)telus(DOT)net

  13. Perfect for us and our 5 week old~

  14. I’d love to have this book. Having a bedtime story always helped me calm down as a kid- my Dad made up the best ones!

  15. When I was about 3 my Mom started letting me take naps in my closet and I LOVED it. My own little cocoon of coziness. This book couldn’t come at a better time….our Little Goat just marked 10 months and the sleeping which WAS good is taking a downward turn…Boo!

  16. I like it when someone sleeps with me in bed, that always comforts me. I could really use this book. My 3.5 month old kept us up all night. Nothing would soothe him. Needless to sat I have had about 12 cups of coffee today.

  17. count me in! dr sears gives great advice!

  18. I love all of the books by Dr Sears – this is one I haven’t stumbled upon – somehow!

  19. I would love a copy of this book! I am a fan of Dr. Sears! I use to lay in my bed and pray when I was scared at night!

  20. I would either pray or count sheep!

  21. I could really use this as we already have issues with our month old baby…I hope it gets better as he gets older!

  22. I normally lay in bed and pray when I get scared. Thanks for the chance to win.

  23. A friend sent me this link because she KNEW I needed this book. I recently blogged my beliefs on co-sleeping and such, ending in a request for what to do when they’re ready (or WE’RE ready for them) to move to the crib. As I LOVE Dr. Sears, here’s hoping I win this book and it has all the answers!

  24. I have a 2 month old who is, thankfully, sleeping pretty much through the night right now (we’re having trouble with naps during the day though!) I’d love to have this book for when we transition to a crib in case his sleeping habits change! I honestly don’t remember feeling scared going to bed when I was a child!

  25. This book sounds great. Thanks for the giveaway.

  26. I don’t really remember being scared at night… I think that our nighttime book reading was always a great way to unwind 🙂 And we listened to books on tape after lights out – love it!!

  27. I’m an AP momma and due w/ my 5th baby Oct. 30. I haven’t read this book yet, but not only could it be helpful w/ my next LO, I’m a LLL leader and it would be useful to have in my library.

    When I was a child and scared or sick, cuddling up in bed with my Grandma (who raised me) was the most comforting thing.

  28. Definitely count me in. My 3 week old and I would surely benefit from it in the near future!

  29. I co-slept with my mama when I was a child!

  30. I love Dr. Sears! I have the Baby Book and The Pregnancy Book (fabulous thrifting finds). I would love this book as well since we’re expecting in July! Thanks for the offer!

  31. my daughter is 17 months, so i just sneak in under your age limit. but she wakes up as much as a newborn. seriously. she slept through the night for a month – about a year ago. since then, she’s up every hour or two.

    in fact, she just woke up again.

    i could REALLY use a good night’s sleep!

  32. I love Dr. Sears. When I was little, the only was I could sleep was with the hall light on. Wait… I’m 21 and I still can’t sleep in the dark. I need a light (stronger than a nighlight) or the hall light or something.

  33. I have a 16 month old I still can’t get to sleep through the night. I would love this to help with her and then for future babies. Plus I have an aunt that is pregnant too. She loves Dr. Sears! Please enter me! Thank you so much! Stop by for our giveaway!

  34. My parents said that I had a wind up train that would go back and forth on the edge of the crib and play music. I loved that thing and it would put me to sleep I guess! Thank you for the giveaway, it’s great! I would love to win. nw_wife(at)hotmail(dot)com

  35. What made me feel comfortable was having super soft blankets and listening to classical music.

  36. I’m in Canada, and hope I can enter :). amazon.ca would be happy to ship here! We are pretty AP, and co-sleep with our two little ones, and are expecting another one in a couple of months – thankfully we have a big bed! I could actually use tips for my two year old, because my milk is drying up. Thanks!

  37. I have a three week old son, and we are already having sleep issues. I never know what to do when he just won’t be calmed. This would be great for us!

    gitrecca (at) gmail (dot) com

  38. Please enter me

  39. I’d love to give to my friend who has trouble with her newborn.:-)

  40. I would LOVE this. My daughter is 13 months old and we’re still struggling. I’d love to be better at the whole sleep thing whenever #3 decides to join us 🙂

  41. Oh, how I would love to read this book! I would lay in the middle of my bed and pray!

  42. When I was little I had to have any blanket with a shiny/satiny border on it. I called it a “kitty”. I couldn’t sleep without it! Thanks for the giveaway!

  43. Jasper is 9 months and has yet to sleep in his crib. He was in a moses basket and then a playpen by our bed but now he sleeps with me. I am exhausted! His sister NEVER slept with us, so I have no idea how this has happened or how to deal with it. He is massively stubborn- will cry for more than an hour if we try to leave him in the crib. Oh, I could use some help…

  44. I co-slept with my grandmother so I always felt safe with her. We are having sleep issues with my 16 month old – she wakes up at least 3-4 times a night to nurse yet. I am a tired mama! Please enter me in your contest, perhaps we could use the advice Dr. Sears is giving.

  45. My daughter just had a baby and could use this book. When I was little my mom would let me get in bed with her if I was scared.

  46. Great giveaway! I hope i’m the lucky winner! 🙂

  47. When I get scared as a child at night, I could never run out to my mom, not to be seen as a baby. So all I did was try to be more courageous, or simply fall asleep.

  48. When I was a child, my mom would sing me ‘you are my sunshine’ to put me to sleep and play with my hair.

  49. I don’t know if I am too late. I would like a chance at this one. I am pregnant with my first and would really like my baby to sleep through the night!

  50. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

