Recipe Wednesdays: If you don’t have, then use…

AHA!!! I have been looking for this since I was 16! Taken from Nesting: It’s a Chick Thing, written by Ame Mahler Beanland and Emily Miles Terry.  In this section we are given (insert Heavenly choir here) a list of useful substitutions for baking and cooking. The most useful and (no duh) ones that I found are listed:

If you don’t have: I egg (for cake batter), Then use:  2 Tbsp. mayonnaise

If you don’t have: 1 Tbsp. cornstarch, Then use: 2 Tbsp.  flour

If you don’t have: 1 cup powed sugar, Then use: 1 cup sugar plus 1 Tbsp. cnstarch processed in food processor.

And one from my awesome aunt that I probably talk about way too much:

If you don’t have: brown sugar, Then use: 1/2 part white sugar and 1/2 part honey OR all parts maple syrup.

GENIUS!!!

Can I also just say that while I was a vegan I cooked quite a bit with egg substitute powder and even now, years later, that 5 dollar box of powdery stuff still saves me about once a week – that’s right, the same box!

Leave a Reply

