A word about lesson plans…

On Patience and Interrupted Plans:

Our plan for today was to do a papier-mache pig. I ended up doing that as Sam hates getting dirty. (Duh. I should have known!) Instead we played with tons of balloons. And he laughed, and laughed, and laughed, and laughed…

Yesterday we were supposed to finish our silo (can you tell it’s farm week?) but instead we played with Mater and Lightning in the bathtub together. Once again, we laughed and laughed and laughed!

Tomorrow an unexpected friend is coming over to play with Sam and I had other plans for us.

This just reminds me that the lesson plans I have ready for my three-year-old are just plans – a way for me to map out the day and exert some control – to make sure I don’t lose focus. Pre-School isn’t about learning how to sit still, raise your hand, and ask to be excused from the table. We’re working these things, but my primary focus is learning through fun. And when something better or more important comes along it’s important for me to remember that I am the steward of Sam’s learning and love; I’m not here to rule over his day.

What I remember most at night while I’m at work isn’t usually how good a project turned out, rather it’s either a.) How impatient I was with him or b.) How much fun we had together. I am trying so hard to have more “b” days than “a”!!! Hopefully this post will keep it fresh in my mind. There’s so much to do and SO little time. I’m just glad my little man is such a gracious, loving soul.

Leave a Reply

