Easter Preschool Theme: March 29 – April 4

Ok, so I’m going to give this another try.  (Insert smiley, grumpy, exasperated, annoyed, disappointed face here.)

It got to be too much, so I put the blogging (and, mostly, the home schooling) down. But God delivered me from my part-timer and I’m home (for now) with my little man until he goes off to 4 year-old kindergarten in September. I’ll hopefully have a job by then, but if I can get this under wraps before that happens maybe I can continue to stay focused on my main job – raising my amazing boy!

So here’s my first edition. Not to be confused with my first blog. I still don’t have time for blogging. I’m not that organized. (Like you amazing people.) But hopefully getting this all down and linked up will help. Some?

Math: Number the bottom of an egg carton 1-12 then draw dots on plastic eggs (or put something???) in them and have Sam match up the egg to the correct spot. This mazeBunny/basket counting, Bunny graph (love this idea!), Easter ordinal.

Reading: Easter by Gail Gibbons -got this at the library (not recommended if your child is older – it presents the Easter bunny and Jesus and the Bible as “beliefs” and suggests that some of these ideas are only stories. But it does give a very clear presentation of every Easter idea.) The Legend of the Easter Egg – LOVE this one!

Comprehension/Writing: Bunny book, The Easter Bunny’s letter, Jesus poem, Jesus Taught Us How to Pray song.

Learning to read these words this week: egg, cross, spring, did, at, them, with

Science/Sensory: We’re going to start our Marigold seeds in an empty/cleaned out egg shell. We’ll also hide the plastic eggs in the sandbox and dig for them. We’ll buy a white carnation and put it in food coloring and water – watch it over the course of the week.

Art: Trace and color egg, roll the stone away project, Cross scissor skill project, stained glass cross – I think I’ll probably melt the crayons because Sam loves making messes!

Cooking: Easter story cookies – I am so excited to do this – finally! – this year. I love that I’m explaining to Sam the full (albeit abridged) story of Easter finally!!! We’ll use walnuts, however, because we don’t have pecans – hope it still works.

Bible Verses:  Of course, The Bible – these passages tell the story:

  • Matthew 28:1-20
  • Mark 16:1-19
  • Luke 24:1-53
  • John 20:1 – 22:25

Field Trip: Park, Egg hunt at Grandma’s, special Easter service at church

As always, thanks so much to the wonderful resources used this week. I am so thankful for your creativity and dedication to children!

Happy Easter  – God BLESS YOU ALL!!!

Leave a Reply

