Pamper Party Recipes

beautybathWhile in high school I learned the beauty of an hour long bath dedicated to pampering my skin and soul. Now, as a mom, I need it more than ever. I used to be able to spend loads of cash on beauty products. I’d throw in oil, bath beads, eveb tea bags specially made for your bath. I’d slather on face masks, face scrubs, body scrubs, foot scrubs, hair masks, and hand masks. Geez! What a bunch of stuff! After I was done I would emerge a new soul – ready to take on the world – and my bed! It was so relaxing and made me feel so beautiful I never thought I would feel the need to give it up! But I did.

Once I stopped working full-time and became a mom we had very little to spend on beauty, let alone beauty rituals! How frivolous! If anything I’d soak my hair extra long in the bath tub and use a new razor! ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s all I had the money for. After a while I missed that alone time at home and found ways to get around the high cost and artificial ingredients on my skin. Here are a few recipes that I use now from ingredients straight from my kitchen.

Note: I don’t have any particular allergies, so I’m not sure how it works if you’re allergic to honey, etc. Test a small spot and wait overnight to see if you’re allergic to any ingredients. I wouldn’t want you rushed to the hospital on my account!

Pamper Party Recipes

Face Scrub: 1 part honey, 1 part regular coffee grounds– Mix well in the palm of your hands and scrub gently around face, neck, chest – wherever you experience acne or blemishes. The honey will cleanse your skin (really! It’s FANTASTIC!) and the coffee will slough off the rough areas. Let it sit for awhile if you’d like, then rinse. Don’t worry about the coffee in the bathtub it will rinse right down – but it is gritty against your butt!

Face Mask: 1 part honey, 1 part oatmeal – First grind/blend the oatmeal so that it is powder fine – this makes it easier for the oats to go down the drain later on. Mix oats and honey in the palm of your hand and slather on your face. The honey will be sticky at first but will soon melt and glide on easily. Close your moth tightly. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let sit for about 10-15 minutes, rinse.

Foot “Soak”: Kiwi/Pineapple skinย – I read recently that the skin of kiwi and pineapple fruits contain bromide, a meat tenderizer. Theoretically, this is supposed to soften the heals of your feet. I’ve tried this and LOVE it. I say theoretically because I can never tell what specific thing I’m doing is helping my nasty feet, but something’s working and I’m not going to stop doing this – especially since we always have kiwis! Just rub the skin on your feet, let it sit for just awhile and hop into the tub.

Body/Hand Scrub: 1 part sea salt (regular table salt works just fine, too), 1 part soap/body wash – Scrub, scrub, scrub, rinse. Pretty easy. See this post for a more intense recipe.

Moisturizing Body/Hand Scrub: 1 part sea salt, 1 part coconut oil warmed in your hand or stove (I’d say microwave, but I feel very strongly about not using one). Scrub, rinse.

Face Scrub: Face wash, Cane Sugar or Sea Salt – be careful with this and scrub gently, as you can cut your skin with these products which in turn can smear around bacteria creating more nastiness.

eye_covered_tea_bagsEye Treatment: Of course there’s always cucumbers, but my son really loves these and I hate stealing them for stupid vain purposes like the gross bags under my eyes. You can also try my favorite, used black or grean tea bags. Wet the already used bags, squeeze, let sit on eyes for 10-15 minutes.

Bath Oil: Add to your bath any essential oil – my favorite is lavender!lavender

Bath Soak: Use that same ground up oatmeal and sprinkle 1/3 cup under running water. You can use baking soda as well. This works especially well with itchy, dry, or rashy skin.

I have loads of other recipes – do you have any specific concerns you’d like to address? These are the easiest of my recipes – things I use weekly. I hope you like them and you enjoy your own special PAMPER PARTY!!!

3 Responses

  1. Great ideas – I am going to have to try some of these.

  2. Yay! Please do. Let me know what you think! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m VERY excited about these recipes!! Thank you for posting them!

Leave a comment